thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Boys’ Night

on December 1, 2011

So, I completely meant to post a picture of the Deer Steak I made from the doe I killed in WV over Thanksgiving break… I took a picture of the deer, took a picture of the meat, and forgot about the dinner.  Drat!!  But I will say that soaking it in milk for a few hours, then in balsamic vinegar, definitely took the gaminess out of it and it tasted great!!  Will try to do better next time 🙂

…ANYWAY!

Tonight was Boys’ Night in the house, where the boys are all watching football (and by watching football i mean watching the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show that we taped from earlier in the week), so I made them a few snacks then went to have sushi by myself 🙂  WIN!

The two snacks I made weren’t anything complicated, but they were well-received and very tasty.  The first was pretty easy and self-explanatory: pigs in a blanket.  I just used the mini-cocktail franks and cut the crescent rolls in half (or smaller) and served them with your choice of mustard (dijon, spicy brown, regular) and ketchup.

The other appetizer I made was a hot ham and cheese.  It’s super easy and tastes good hot or cold.  First thaw out the puff pastry – I just take it out of the packaging and let it set on a plate, usually on top of the stove while it heats up (just speeds things up a bit).  Note:  There are two in a package; if you only want to use one sheet, just cut it in half and halve the rest of the ingredients.

Then I roll it out on a floured mat.  After this, put it in the fridge to stiffen up a little bit – it will make it easier to use later.

While that’s chilling, melt the butter in a pan on the stove.  After it melts, stir in the flour – you are making a roux.  After that’s stirred together and makes a paste, add in the milk.  Simmer on the stove until it thickens, then add a touch of salt, pepper and nutmeg.  Then remove from stove to cool for a bit.

Place the chilled sheet of Puff Pastry on the cookie sheet, and layer on the ham.  I usually buy 1 pound of deli ham (virgina baked is fine) and get it chipped.  The lady at the Deli asked me why I got it that way – I myself prefer it, it’s how my mama always bought it.  It’s also easier to eat in a sandwich when it’s already chopped up and ready to go.  Layer this on the pastry, then add slices (or shredded) Swiss Cheese on top.  Top it with the Roux, then the second sheet of puff pastry.  Seal the edges with an egg wash and rub a little egg wash over the top.  

Bake and slice!!   I forgot to take a photo of the slices before I left, so I texted Tony to take a pic and they were already half gone :-p  Success!!

Leave a Reply

