thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Moroccan Lamb!

on December 6, 2011

In the Feragotti House, this is one of our favorite recipes.  I prefer to make it with an actual rack of lamb, but chops will also work.

 

This is a Pampered Chef recipe – they have so many good ones and I have several of their cookbooks.  A lot of their “29 minutes or less” recipes are definitely worth checking out!
…anyway…
This is a one-pan dish, and only takes a few ingredients:

 

Heat some oil in an oven-proof skillet.  Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl and reserve about 2 tsp.  Rub the dry mix on each side of the lamb.

When the pan is hot, add the lamb and sear on each side (1-2 minutes).  When seared, add the pan of lamb to the oven (350 deg) and cook about 4 minutes.  While that’s cooking, mix 3-4 tbsp of honey with the remaining dry ingredients.

After 4 minutes, remove the pan and drizzle with the honey mixture.  Put back in the oven for another 3-4 minutes.  We prefer ours Medium Rare, so this is plenty of time; you might need to adjust to taste (though medium rare is perfect for tender, juicy lamb!!).

I did cheat on the side tonight though – I made potatoes from a mix-and-heat bag.  But they were delicious!!  And just the right amount for 2 people.

 

Delicious dinner!!

So, a lot of people joke that I can’t possibly cook like this all the time.  I don’t, but try to at least 3 days a week.  I love cooking, and being in the kitchen, trying new recipes, new foods.  So here is a glimpse of my recipe cabinet:

The recipes in binders in the bottom are organized by food (Appetizers, Chicken, Veggies, Desserts, one for Holidays/Seasonal, etc.) and are in plastic protective sheeting, so when I’m cooking I don’t splatter and make a mess.  I collect them from lots of places – tastespotting.com (love this site!), Martha Stewart magazines, Rachael Ray, and the Food Network Magazine (another favorite!).  The top shelves are cookbooks that I haven’t torn apart yet 🙂 and pages of recipes that I have recently found but not filed.  I have (I’m sure) thousands – and hope to try most of them (I’ve got a pretty good start!!).  So if anybody needs a good recipe, I have recommendations out the wazoo 🙂

 

 

2 responses to “Moroccan Lamb!

  1. Gwen Lyons says:

    I am about certain you and I have the exact same stove. I have never eaten lamb before, not sure if I would like it. Is it similar to anything?

    • It feels like very, very tender beef but the taste is not quite the same. I would say it’s very flavorful, but very mild. Another good recipe I have is lamb with Lemon – gives you a little more of the lamb flavor. But this is probably good for a first go-round. You can also get stew-pieces (off the bone) and make them into something. Lots of options!

Leave a Reply

