thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Cheese-Filled Meatballs!

on December 8, 2011

Lastnight Tony made chili for work and had lots of leftover hamburger meat.  So tonight was Gorgonzola Stuffed Meatballs!  This is a really easy recipe (I got it from Rachael Ray:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/gorgonzola-filled-meatballs-bay-and-onion-creamy-tomato-gravy-recipe/index.html) and makes for great leftovers.

As always, I assembled the ingredients first (besides the fact this is a good habit to get into, my mom and I are famous for starting to make something and realize halfway through we are missing key items!!).

Mix the raw meat with the salt, pepper, minced garlic, egg, parmesan cheese (I use the kind from a can), and bread crumbs (I used panko).  The recipe calls for a mix of veal and ground beef, but I just use ground beef.   When it’s all mixed, make large baseball-sized meatballs and lay into a baking dish.  Punch a hole in the middle of the meat and fill with Gorgonzola (although I love this cheese, I had some leftover Feta that was calling my name, so I did a 50/50 mix of the two, and it turned out great!).  Splash a tad of olive oil on them, and bake at 400 for ~20 minutes.

While the meat is cooking, heat up the butter and oil in a pot.  Add in the diced onion, bay leaves, salt, and pepper.  After they’ve cooked a bit, add in a can of crushed tomatoes (my favorite!) and 1/2 C or so of chicken broth.  I don’t add the full cup because it makes the sauce too loose – I prefer a thicker sauce.  Then add the cream; tonight I used sour cream instead of heavy cream, just because I had it handy in the fridge.

When the meat is done cooking, put it in a bowl/on a plate, and cover with the sauce.  Makes great leftovers!!!

Leave a Reply

