thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

The First Breakfast of 2012

on January 1, 2012

Happy New Year!!  Since it’s a long weekend, I am making breakfast every day and today is a new year/new recipe kind of day 🙂  This recipe was called Amish Breakfast Casserole and was really delicious.  The main ingredient is already-made hashbrowns – I love these things.  I occasionally make my own if I have potatoes that need using, but really this is just as easy, and just as good (if not better!).

Since it was just the two of us, I halved the recipe (posted here) – but it’s easy enough to double it for more people.  First, cut up some bacon with scissors (if you don’t have kitchen-scissors, go out and get a pair, nothing fancy, just regular scissors that you can use on food only that are dishwasher-safe) and dice up half an onion.  Cook them both in a pan until the bacon is crisp and onion is clear.  The recipe called for a Vidalia onion, but I only had white – worked just as well.  You might need to drain the bacon grease off when you’re done cooking, but I found there wasn’t hardly any when the onion was mixed in with it.

While that’s cooking, mix ~2 C  of the hashbrowns (save the rest for tomorrow!), 3 eggs, ~1 C of cheddar cheese, ~1 C of swiss cheese, and ~1/2 C of cottage cheese.  When the bacon mix is done cooking, add it to all the cheeses.

Spray a pan with Pam and cook for 30 min @350.  For the last minute or so, I turned the broiler on to make sure everything was cooked well and was not mushy.  I think it turned out wonderfully!!  Very delicious, and great for a crowd (especially since it’s so quick and easy!!).

 

 

Leave a Reply

