thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

I’m back!! Pork with Apricot Chutney

on February 2, 2012

So, after a few weeks off (I don’t cook when I’m home alone :-p) I made an oldie-but-goodie that is a house favorite.  A year or so ago a co-worker and I went to a local catering company for a cooking class.  They offer them pretty frequently, and I have been meaning to take another one but haven’t been able make it back out there.  At the class, the chef made an appetizer, main course, side dish, and dessert.  We got to watch him step-by-step, we got a full meal to eat, and he gave us the recipes to take home.  One technique he taught was to sear the meat on all sides (after seasoning) before roasting in the oven.  It really seals in the flavor and I do it to just about every type of meat I fix.  Now – onto the recipe!!

This is a Cumin-Crusted Pork Loin, with Apricot Chutney.  Mix together some ground cumin, sugar, salt, and pepper; spread the mixture on a plate.  Dredge the pork loin in the spice mixture to coat all sides, then sear in a hot pan for a few seconds on all sides.

 

 

Remove the pork from the pan, and place on a raised rack on a baking sheet.  Bake at 400 for about 25 minutes (will be a little pink in the middle – perfect!).  While the pork is cooking, make the chutney – dice up a cup or so of dried apricots,

mix in a small pot with 1/2 C brown sugar, 1/2 C chopped red onion, 1/3 C cider vinegar, 1/4 C golden raisins, 2 Tbsp honey, 1/2 tsp each of salt, pepper, mustard seed, and ground cumin.  Bring to a simmer and cook about 20 minutes.

While all of this is in the works, I made a side of Wild Rice –

For some reason this tasted so darn good tonight, and went perfectly with the pork.   I would definitely recommend it 🙂

When the pork is done cooking, remove it from the oven and let it set on the cutting board a few minutes, so the juices won’t rush out when you slice it.

I slice the pork into thin pieces, and layer with the chutney on a plate.

Mmm, delicious!!   The sweet and salty taste of the pork, mixed with the sweet and tangy flavors of the chutney go so well together.  And really, the dish is super easy to make – I promise.

So, since I’m drinking milk, it always tastes better in a fancy glass 🙂  Weeknights don’t have to be boring!!

 

Leave a Reply

