thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Dinner Party!

on March 17, 2012

I love having people over for dinner – it gives me a chance to try new recipes (especially desserts!) and share my love of cooking. Every time I do this, I am reminded of how much I can’t wait till I get my double-oven – because cooking with one oven is just insanity.  Yet I continue…

This time it was dinner for some of the Mr.’s friends, i.e. guys.  And what do guys love?  Meat and Potatoes!  So tonight’s menus is: (appetizer) artichoke dip with french bread, (meat) French Onion Salisbury Steak, (sides) mashed potatoes/brussels with bacon and bleu cheese, and drumroll (dessert): flourless mini chocolate cakes with chocolate ganache and raspberries.  Wow – these things were so easy to make, and just heavenly.

Ingredients (from Better Homes and Gardens):
Cocoa Powder
5 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup butter, softened, broken into chunks
1/3 cup Kahlua (or equivalent)
6 oz semi-sweet chocolate, melted
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup whipping cream
3 oz semi-sweet chocolate
raspberries

Directions:
*Preheat the oven to 350.  Grease custard cups, line with wax paper, then grease the wax paper.  Dust with cocoa powder.
(Hmm, I wish I had read this a little more carefully.  I did not have custard cups, so I used a silpat cupcake pan, and sprayed it with Pam…worked just the same.  But forgot the cocoa dust completely.) 

*In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar with a mixer until thick (5-7 minutes).  Add Liquer and butter and beat until blended (it will look a little lumpy/curdled, that’s ok).  Add melted chocolate and vanilla, continue mixing till combined.  Pour batter into the cake mold and bake about 20 minutes, then cool on rake for 20-30 min.

*When you’re ready to serve, make the ganache.  In a small pan, bring the whipping cream to just a boil.  Remove from heat and add in the chocolate (I use chips) – do not stir.  Let stand for 5 minutes, then stir, and let cool for 10 minutes.

*If you use the individual cakes, feel free to serve from them.  Top with the ganache and raspberries.

 

I made these and started eating before I thought to take a photo!!  But if you ask me, it still looks darn delicious…  Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

