thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

on March 18, 2012

I think I got this recipe from Southern Living, but I don’t remember.  I get 5 or 6 food magazines in the mail (plus whatever strikes my fancy at the grocery store check-out) and rip out the ones I like.  Then all of my recipes are organized into 3-ring binders by category (chicken, other meats (subdivided into beef, pork, and lamb), desserts, appetizers, vegetables) and tucked into plastic protective sheets.  That way when I want to make a meal all of my recipes are nice and organized, and if I spill food on them (which is all but a guarantee) it’s easy clean-up and nothing gets ruined.

Winter time for me is a great time for all the comfort foods, hot soups, casseroles, and crock-pot meals.  The big heavy foods with the thick sauces – just says ‘cozy up by the fire and enjoy me!’  With the recent weather we’ve been having it looks like my winter-time foods are going to be put away until the next season.  But that’s ok, because summer brings such fresh vegetables and more creative ideas!!

Anyway, back to the post…
This was a recipe I thought I’d try, but didn’t have high hopes for.  And I was pleasantly surprised, because it was actually pretty tasty.  And it’s got wild rice in it, so very filling as well.

I only used half the recipe, but I’m posting the whole one –

Ingredients
2 packages of long grain wild rice and flavor mix  (1)
10 cups of chicken broth, divided
3 Tbsp butter
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
1 chopped onion
1 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup half and half (or whole milk, or heavy cream – whatever is handy)
2 Tbsp dry white wine
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken breast

Directions
*Bring rice, 4 cups of broth, and 1 packet of seasoning mix to a boil in a pan.  Cover, reduce by simmering until rice is tender.

*Melt 3 Tbsp of butter in a skillet.  Add mushrooms, onion, and celery and cook 10-12 minutes until tender.

*Melt 1/3 cup butter in a big pot, whisk in flour continually until mixed and bubbling.   Gradually whisk in remaining 6 cups of chicken broth, stirring slightly until thickened.  Whisk in half-and-half and the white wine.  Stir in veggie mixture, chicken, and rice.   Cook, stirring occasionally, for 5-10 minutes until heated through (do not boil).

A very easy meal for a cold night!!

Leave a Reply

