thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Chicken and Noodle Stir-fry

on July 29, 2012

So I try to only go to the grocery store and buy enough fresh ingredients for 3 meals or so – knowing that along the way we’ll go out to eat for dinner, not be hungry, eat with friends, etc. and my fresh goodies won’t last.  And I hate throwing out food just because it spoils.  So last weekend I bought enough for three meals…and I have no idea what we did, but the chicken made it all the way to Friday night.  When I opened it up it smelled like vinegar (I’m pretty sure that’s not how it’s supposed to smell…).  So out went the chicken, out went the veggies, and out went the backup meat that I had, because it smelled bad, too.   So out to dinner we went!! 🙂

Anyway, the meal I was going to make was a Pampered Chef recipe – it reminds me of something I always eat in the Manchester, NH airport (sad that I have a favorite meal in a particular airport?).  I’ll post the original recipe (from PamperedChef.com) with some of my notes on the sides…

It was really easy to make, and we had a 3rd person here to help eat all the pasta.  Definitely a keeper!!  (And yes, we totally ate with chopsticks :-))

 

Chicken and Noodle Stir-Fry
http://www.pamperedchef.com/recipe_search/recipe.jsp?id=86074

Ingredients

Stir-Fry
12 oz uncooked linguine
1 medium red bell pepper
1 small red onion
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 1/2 lbs chicken tenders
1 tbsp Asian Seasoning Mix
1 bag fresh stir-fry vegetable mix
1/3 cup chopped cashews (optional)

Glaze
1 cup chicken broth
1/3 cup orange marmalade (more to taste, if needed)
1/4 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 tbsp cornstarch
3 garlic cloves, pressed
2 tsp grated fresh gingerroot (I used the paste in a tube)

Directions

Bring salted water to a boil in covered pan. Cook pasta according to package directions; drain in large Colander. [I used an entire box of linquine and cooked very al dente – as an Asian food it tastes better a little crunchy]

Meanwhile, using Santoku Knife, slice bell pepper into strips and onion into thin wedges. [I was lazy and bought a pack of fresh veggies already cut up, but did slice them a little thinner – definitely saved on prep time!]  Heat oil in Stir-Fry Skillet over medium-high heat 1-3 minutes or until shimmering. Slice chicken on a bias into 1/2-in. (1-cm) pieces. Combine chicken and seasoning mix in mixing bowl.

[I didn’t have any of the special Asian seasoning Pampered Chef has, so I made my own:  mixed white pepper, ground red pepper, onion flakes, garlic powder, thyme, salt, and coriander – don’t add too much red pepper or it will be overly-spicy]

Add chicken to Skillet; cook and stir 4-6 minutes or until centers of chicken are no longer pink. Add stir-fry veggie mix to Skillet; cook and stir 2-3 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender.

Whisk together glaze ingredients in a small bowl. Move chicken and vegetables up sides of the Skillet, making a well in center; add glaze and bring to a boil. Add pasta to Skillet; toss with chicken, vegetables and glaze. Garnish with cashews, if desired. [I don’t use cashews – I don’t like to put nuts in my food]

[Also, I drained the pasta and put it in a bowl, then added the chicken/sauce mix over it instead of in the pan – didn’t have enough room]

Leave a Reply

