thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Shells with Olives and Ricotta Salata

on August 2, 2013

So, besides sticking to seasonal ingredients, I also occasionally try to use ingredients I already have on hand.  As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, the grocery store is super exciting for me – there are so many products, so many new things to try, so many possibilities.  If you check my pantry, you’ll see random things I pick up thinking about future meals.  Today’s case-in-point was anchovies (ohmygoshiloveanchovies) – and I have a great recipe that uses them, subtly, for some excellent flavors.

Side Note: I collect recipes from a variety of sources.  Sometimes from blogs I read, I subscribe to a few magazines (Rachael Ray (thanks, Amanda!!), Everyday Living, Food Network to name a few).  I try to credit the source, but a lot of the times I have no idea where the recipe hailed from, so I apologize in advance.  Since this one is a “30 minute meal” and uses the term EVOO, I’m going to guess it’s a Rachael Ray.

100_1787

Ingredients:

Box of pasta shells
Olive Oil
7-8 flat Anchovy fillets
Small Chile Pepper (or 1-2 tsp crushed red pepper)
5-6 cloves of garlic, minced
3/4 C mixed green and black olives, chopped~1 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp white wine
1/2 C flat-leaf parsley
1 C crumbled ricotta salata (or queso blanco, or other)

When you drain out the pasta, save a little of the water; stir it into the sauce pan.  Pour the pasta into a bowl, top it with the pan sauce, and the ricotta salata.  I didn’t have that, so I used queso blanco – the dish is very salty, so you don’t need a horribly salty cheese.

100_1790

While the pasta water is heating up, heat some oil in the skillet and add the anchovies.  Stir until melted into the oil – but fair warning, if it’s too hot, the anchovies will pop with the oil and you’ll have anchovy-grit all over your kitchen.

100_1789

 When the anchovies are melted, add in the chile pepper and garlic, stir for about 3 minutes.  Add in the olives and lemon juice.  Pour in the white wine to deglaze the pan.  I didn’t have any wine, so i used a little butter and water – turned out just fine.

100_1791

Leave a Reply

