thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Pickled Carrots

on August 11, 2013

So after spending 8 hours (give or take – I lose track of time quickly when I don’t get out of my jammies…all day) sorting recipes, I had lots of new things I wanted to try.  I love pickles – dill only, please!!  But I like carrots, too – so I thought Pickled Carrots would be good to try (The Food Network Magazine always has good recipes).  If it helps, I ran a 5K after my recipe-marathon 🙂

Ingredients:

7 Medium carrots, peeled and sliced thin into rounds
4 sprigs of dill
3/4 C white wine vinegar
1/3 C sugar
Kosher Salt
1 tsp dill seeds
1/2 tsp caraway seeds
Pepper

Bring some water to a boil, add the carrots and cook until crisp-tender (~1-3 min).  Drain and rinse in cold water until cooled.  Put the carrots in a Bell jar with the dill sprigs (*I didn’t have the dill sprigs, not fresh ones anyway, so I shook the dill spices and carrots in the jar after I put the carrots in).

100_1814

For the brine – combine the vinegar, 3/4 C water, sugar, 2 1/2 tsp of salt, dill seeds, caraway seeds, and a dash of pepper in a pot and bring to a boil.  When it’s hot enough, pour over the carrots in the jar.  Cool completely and store in the fridge for up to a week.

100_1816

Now this was a bit on the sweet side for me, but the vinegar made it tolerable.  Next time I might not use as much sugar.  But they were still delicious.  I made them late last week, and today enjoyed them with dinner (a very colorful meal, if I do say so myself!!):  pickled carrots, zucchini al formagio, brussels with lemon, and steak with garlic salt.

100_1817

Leave a Reply

