thegingerchef

Recipes from My Kitchen

Toddlers are not reliable food critics.

on February 12, 2016

My kid loves pizza.  I love pizza.  Who doesn’t?  So I saw a recipe for Pizza Pinwheels (it was on some facebook post I saw about “7 things you can make with Puff Pastry”).  Well the store was out of puff pastry (darn you, Super Bowl parties!) but I thought crescent rolls would be a good substitute (and I was not wrong).

I was so excited – “I’ll make these for dinner”, I thought; “My toddler will inhale these,” I thought.  Well, I thought wrong.  One bite and from across the kitchen I heard “Eeeew, these are dis-GUS-ting, where are the other things I like?”  Meaning “where’s the real pizza, instead of this cheap-o knockoff?”  Kid, you don’t like my pizza-experiment, then you get fish sticks.  Kid approved of the fish sticks.  Kid 1, Mom 0.

But, there is always a silver lining.  In this case, there are a few of them!  One being, they are less than 5 ingredients and about 15 minutes to make – great for a snack, an appetizer, or (in my case today) breakfast.  Two, pretty cost efficient to make (I had 2 of the 3 ingredients on hand).  And three, I loved them.  In fact, the picture I took (below) was after I inhaled about 4 of them (I couldn’t stop myself).  Since they were mine, all mine, I saved a few for lunch today…and promptly ate them for breakfast (in fact…I started eating them in the parking lot, as I walked into work; I’m terrible).  So even though my pint-sized food critic was not impressed (she dips her green beans in ketchup, can she really be trusted??), this recipe is a keeper.  And, bonus – they were only about 50 calories per pinwheel (by using the Pillsbury crescent sheets).

pizza

Keep in mind, the recipe below used Puff Pastry – which definitely holds its shape better than the crescent rolls… So mine may look a little wonky, but don’t let that deter you, they were delicious.

http://www.purewow.com/recipes/7-Party-Appetizers-to-Make-with-Puff-Pastry

ITALIAN PINWHEELS

Roll out the puff pastry a little to flatten it. Spread ⅓ cup tomato paste all over the puff pastry. Layer 4 ounces sliced soppressata on top of the tomato paste, overlapping each piece a little. Sprinkle ½ cup grated pecorino cheese evenly over the entire surface. Starting with the side closest to you, roll the whole thing into a tight roll. Slice the roll into ½-inch-thick pieces. Transfer to a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake at 400°F until golden brown, 11 to 13 minutes.

One response to “Toddlers are not reliable food critics.

  1. Kathy McKown says:

    Love your blogs… you are so talented like your mama… 🙂

Leave a Reply

